The Marcus King Band - Carolina Confessions - New CD Album - Pre Order Released 05/10/2018

The Marcus King Band - Carolina Confessions - New CD Album - Pre Order Released 05/10/2018

  • £13.99

Marcus King doesn't strive for authenticity, he doesn't have to-it's busting out of his DNA in every note he plays and every word he sings. He may be young, but this 22-year old's eloquent songs, expressive guitar playing, and ecstatically soulful singing mark him as a force to be reckoned with. For corroboration consider Carolina Confessions, The Marcus King Band's third full-length album, a sprawling, scintillating work in the tradition of the Stones' Let It Bleed and the Dead's American Beauty, that positions King alongside modern-day songwriting archetypes like Chris Stapleton and Neil Young.

Produced and mixed by Grammy Award-winner Dave Cobb (Chris Stapleton, Sturgill Simpson, John Prine, Jason Isbell) and recorded at Nashville's iconic RCA Studio A, Carolina Confessions finds King and his five bandmates-drummer Jack Ryan, bass player Stephen Campbell, trumpeter/trombonist Justin Johnson, sax player Dean Mitchell and keyboard player DeShawn "D-Vibes" Alexander-taking a major leap as an expansive and dexterous musical unit.

King penned all the material himself, except the swaggering "How Long," which he co-wrote with the Black Keys' Dan Auerbach and veteran songsmith, Pat McLaughlin.

The album's striking cover image-a photograph of a ramshackle confessional, with its screen door swung open, sitting surreally amid the kudzu-is suffused with Southern Gothic mystery. Straddling redemption and damnation, it's a visual metaphor for the spiritual struggle so vividly portrayed in the songs of Carolina Confessions.

With the musically enthralling, deeply personal, Carolina Confessions, The Marcus King Band isn't just perpetuating the proud legacy of American rock and soul music, they are adding their own rich, persuasive chapter.

Track Listing:

1) Confessions

2) Where I’m Headed

3) Homesick

4) 8 a.m.

5) How Long

6) Remember

7) Side Door

8) Autumn Rains

9) Welcome ‘Round Here

10) Goodbye Carolina


We Also Recommend