Aretha Franklin - Atlantic A-Sides - New Vinyl 2LP Album - Pre Order Released 28/09/2018

Aretha Franklin - Atlantic A-Sides - New Vinyl 2LP Album - Pre Order Released 28/09/2018

  • £29.99

When Aretha Franklin joined Atlantic Records in 1967, it was the beginning of an unprecedented run that would ultimately cement her place as a music legend, a global household name, and one of the most influential singers of all time.

The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970 features 34 singles which Franklin released during her first three years with Atlantic Records. Arranged chronologically, the songs on the new collection originally appeared on six studio albums: I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (1967), Aretha Arrives (1967), Lady Soul (1968), Aretha Now (1968), Soul ’69 (1969), This Girl’s In Love With You (1970), and Spirits In The Dark (1970). The only exception is Franklin’s cover of Elton John’s “Border Song”, which was released as a single in 1970 and later appeared on her 1972 album Young, Gifted and Black. The vinyl version is a double LP with 25 tracks.

The album is stacked with many of Franklin’s best-known songs, including “I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)”, “Respect”, “Baby I Love You”, “Chain Of Fools” and “(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone.” Several of the songs on this collection are cover versions that underscore Franklin’s exceptional skill at reinterpreting music and making songs her own. Among the highlights are her versions of Sam Cooke’s “You Send Me”, The Band’s “The Weight”, The Beatles’ “Eleanor Rigby”, and Dionne Warwick’s “I Say A Little Prayer”, which became a Billboard Top 10 hit for Franklin in 1968.


Track Listing:

Side One
1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
2. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
3. Respect
4. Baby I Love You
5. A Natural Woman (You Make Me Feel Like)
6. Chain Of Fools

Side Two
1. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You’ve Been Gone
2. Ain’t No Way
3. Think
4. You Send Me
5. The House That Jack Built
6. I Say A Little Prayer

Side Three
1. See Saw
2. My Song
3. The Weight
4. Tracks Of My Tears
5. I Can’t See Myself Leaving You
6. Gentle On My Mind
7. Share Your Love With Me

Side Four
1. Eleanor Rigby
2. Call Me
3. Son Of A Preacher Man
4. Spirit In The Dark – With The Dixie Flyers
5. Don’t Play That Song – With The Dixie Flyers
6. Border Song (Holy Moses)